Australian Men’s and Women’s National Championships

Australian Men’s and Women’s National Championships

Australian Men’s and Women’s National Championships

A significant highlight of the Bocce Nationals 2024 was the emergence of the next generation of bocce players.

Young athletes, some as young as 16, displayed remarkable talent and poise, challenging seasoned veterans and earning accolades. These young stars brought fresh energy to the sport, characterised by innovative techniques and a fearless approach to competition.

Their performance promises a bright future for bocce and signals a shift in the competitive landscape. Standouts include Melissa Danelutti, Lara O’Callaghan, Chiara Tomasi, Michael Pevere, Tommy Campbell, and Carlo Bunin, all of whom have come through the Bocce Australia training clinics and the BA Bocce Academy.

This year also saw the emergence of senior players such as Don Di Frederico (winner of the Best and Fairest in the men’s division), Milan Matutinovich, Andrew and Mark Pozzer, and returning past juniors now competing in the seniors. New WA bocce talent and French player Corentin (Coco).

Julien was a crowd favourite, winning the Australian Progressive Throw Title. Victorian hero Tony Borrelli won two gold medals, while Vanessa Allegretto earned equal Best and Fairest with Melissa Danelutti in the women’s division.

NSW athletes also shone brightly, with Nicole Samsa winning three gold and one silver medal, Melissa Danelutti three gold, Lara O’Callaghan one gold and one silver, and Stefano Chiandotto silver in Bowl Throw, Precision, and Mixed Rapid.

A highlight was the courage of some of the more senior players as they competed in the Mixed Rapid Relay Throwing event – it was great to see Vanessa Allegretto, Laila Favrin, Stefano Chiandotto, and Tony Borelli team up with younger athletes and do the Mixed Rapid Relay Throw event. They did the sport proud showcasing the sport of bocce and what can be achieved with practice and fitness – a credit to you all for your courage and doing so well!

Written by Frank Funari.